Google+ Shutdown Help
With the Google+ shutdown, you will need to remove the link from your website. If you are using this service to share your posts, it will no longer be available and will create issues. There have been notifications over the past few months from Google reminding users to download any of their data from this service. Zoe at Computer Coach Australia has worked with several clients over this time to ensure all their data has been downloaded. The method is fairly easy to follow, however daunting for some users who are not up to speed with their computer skills. Give Zoe a call on 0407 956 071 if you need some immediate help.
Please read the following information.
Below are some important changes in the FAQ when it comes to Google+
- Here is a summary of the consumer Google+ shutdown
- Photos and videos that are backed up to Google Photos will not be deleted. Find out more about backing up your photos and videos from Google+, including to Google Photos.
- All events created in Google+ will be removed from Google Calendar. You will no longer see birthdays of people in your Google+ Circles as early as March 11, 2019. Birthdays from your Contacts will not be affected. Events created in the Google Calendar will also not be affected.
- Community owners and moderators will be able to download and save data for their public Google+ Communities with extra details for every community post. Learn more here
- The Google+ shutdown should not affect your Google My Business listing. These are two separate products that use separate accounts. Learn more
- This may affect some YouTube functionality. This includes channel art and channel icon editing on mobile, private video sharing to Google+ circles, links to Google+ profiles on YouTube channel pages, Google+ custom URLs for channel pages, and commenting with outdated versions of the YouTube mobile app. Learn more
- On April 2, 2019, the Personal version of Google+ is shutting down.
- We strongly advise that you download and save your Google+ data. Make sure you start before March 31, 2019, because this may take some time.
- If you have a G Suite Account, as part of your work or school, you can continue to use Google+ within your system.
- Google will NOT shut down Gmail, Google Photos, Google Drive, YouTube. The Google Account you use to sign in to these services will remain.
- You also have the option to delete your Google+ account before the consumer Google+ shutdown.
A Heads-Up on Google+ Shutdown
Heads up! Your website could be full of broken links after Tuesday.
Why? On 2 April 2019, this coming Tuesday, Google is shutting down “consumer Google+” and will begin deleting content.
Do you need to do anything? Many folks have linked to their Google+ profile on their website and added Google+ social sharing buttons in blog posts.
So this is going to create a bunch of broken links, bad for google ranking and users.
Check your website for links to Google+ and remove them. While you’re doing a pre-emptive strike on broken links, why not scan your site for any others. Here’s a handy tool to use.
Show your other social accounts some love. Your Search Frog listing allows you to add links to your social networks including Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, Twitter and linkedin.
Not only are these links good for your social accounts, updating your listing will boost your exposure in our search results.
Thanks again for joining us and have a great week ahead!
Search Frog Local Directory